Planting a Seed

I have a confession to make.  Ever since high school and taking a creative writing class, I have had a desire to write.  It started with a note from my teacher telling me I should consider writing as a career.  At the time, I had no idea what I wanted in a career.  I had never even considered writing.  To be honest, I wanted to be a homemaker.  I grew up when “Father Knows Best”, “I Love Lucy”, and “Leave it to Beaver” portrayed that a women’s place was in the home.  You cooked, you kept the house clean, and you were a full-time mommy.  You also did this while wearing a cotton dress (starched and ironed), with heels and pearls. 

Needless to say, I have never been a stay-at-home homemaker.  I went to college and  have had a career for over 30 years, while raising 3 girls and doing well to have a meal on the table each night….much less keeping a house clean while wearing pearls.  I wasn’t prepared for the exhaustion of working full-time and trying to keep my house in order like June Cleaver’s. (Just in case you are wondering – my house has never been in order like June’s and I gave up trying years ago). I think those of us that grew up in the late 50’s and 60’s got cheated somehow because those television shows made us think we had to do it all…..but that is a blog in itself.

Needless to say, however, a seed was planted.  Through the years, the thought of writing has come to mind and I have laughed it off and thought to myself – I’ll do that in my spare time!  When I had that seed planted in the 70’s, we didn’t have the internet, computers and blogging was a word that wasn’t even in the dictionary.  So maybe starting a blog will fill my desire to write.  I certainly am not the next Danielle Steel – but if I can get beyond the technical challenge of creating a blog – maybe I can mark off one thing on my bucket list….writing!

Come along with me….I will be posting and sharing about life in a rural southern town, my love of cooking, sewing, reading, and other creative ideas.   I promise you – it won’t include cleaning – but maybe my need of organization.  And…it definitely will not be while I wear pearls, nylons and heels.

3 thoughts on “Planting a Seed

  1. My initial college major was journalism. I didn’t know I wanted to write, but my mother seemed to think that was what I should do. So, of course, I rebeled and ended up working in state government. As we both know, very little opportunity for anything creative working for the state. I love your Blog and look forward to more.

  2. Love it! I can’t wait to go on this journey with you . . . and I might add, I am very impressed with your first blog!

Leave a Reply

